Exploring those mysterious, underlying forces fueling a writing life

The Glory of Failure

Considering I stand only five feet tall on my tip-toes, I never would have thought I would have something in common with basketball great Michael Jordan.

But we share one thing: failure.

“I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life and that is why I succeed.” Michael Jordan

I, too, have failed again and again – evidenced by my growing pile of rejections from agents and editors.

First PenguinSo, it was quite an honor to recently be awarded The First Penguin Award because I “attempted the hard things, out-of-the-box thinking and using imagination in a daring way without worrying about failure, has taken the gamble of trying new ideas, and continues to be creative and ply my craft”. (Thanks, Mom!)

In his book, “The Last Lecture“, Randy Pausch encouraged his students to “Be the First Penguin”. Students were awarded a stuffed penguin for taking the biggest gamble in trying something new even though it ended with failure. Why a penguin? Because when a group of penguins jump into waters filled with predators, one of them has to go first.

And with each failure we gain experience.

“Experience is what you get when you didn’t get what you wanted…It’s a phrase worth considering at every brick wall we encounter, and at every disappointment. It’s also a reminder that failure is not just acceptable, it’s often essential…First Penguin winners were losers who were definitely going somewhere.” Randy Pausch

CTCaper poster finalAnd this First Penguin winner is on her way. As one of twelve authors selected to write a chapter, I invite you to come along with me in the Great Connecticut Caper, a serialized mystery for children to be published on the Connecticut Humanities website. Join the fun!

Comments on: "The Glory of Failure" (2)

  1. Congratulations on your writing assignment, Michele! Way cool, just like your Penguin Award.

  2. Oh, I love it! I hope you frame that award and put it in above your writing desk! I am really looking forward to following the CT Caper adventures with you. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

WRITERS' RUMPUS

Authors & Illustrators Wild About Kidlit!

mariaslondonblog

HERE'S TO THE NEXT 12 months IN LONDON ***views and comments expressed are entirely my own

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Flights O' Fancy

Young Adult book reviews by your fellow addict

The Matilda Project

Bookish Adventures

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

P u l p e d M a c h i n a

Published Sci-fi Critical Reviews

Nancy Tandon

My inner writer is out to play!

Exploring those mysterious, underlying forces fueling a writing life

Write. Every. Day.

Exploring those mysterious, underlying forces fueling a writing life

WanderTime

Exploring those mysterious, underlying forces fueling a writing life

Life etc...

Exploring those mysterious, underlying forces fueling a writing life

Out to Play

Exploring those mysterious, underlying forces fueling a writing life

Be someone's hero. No cape required.

Lynda Mullaly Hunt, a children's author, blogs on craft, news, and the importance of everyday heroes in everyday lives.

Blossom

Words, Wanderlust, and Daydreams by k.c. o'leary

