Exploring those mysterious, underlying forces fueling a writing life

I’ve been meaning to take a day off from work to try and finish my forever-in-progress novel, but haven’t managed to get around to actually doing that.

Then…

…our dog developed started itching and scratching himself to the point where his hair was falling out. I thought, well, maybe I’ll take Friday off and take him to the vet and send the rest of the day writing. But it was spreading quickly. So I took him to the vet on Thursday night. $294 later, he’s is on antibiotics and steroids for a possible allergic reaction to either a particular food or something environmental and I went to work on Friday. Not a lot of writing done.

Then…

…Sunday evening, not even an hour after my husband left for work n Pennsylvania, water started gushing out of the ground by our septic tank. I called the septic company. He asked me if I thought it was an emergency. Well, no. We didn’t need to wash clothes, dishes, ourselves that night. Then he offered to try and fit me in on Monday instead. Only he wasn’t sure what time he could come. I’d have to take the day off and wait around for him to show up and pump out our septic tank. Oh, and it would cost $220.

phone_redRing…Ring…

Hello?

It’s the Universe calling. Quit complaining and listen. Take the day off. Write.

So I did.

I sat. Butt in chair. I wrote. I Iistened.

I finished it! (well, almost)

And I know I must listen to the Universe whenever it speaks.

I just hope next time it isn’t such an expensive call.

Comments on: "When the Universe Speaks" (3)

  1. Madeline Flood said:

    When life gives you lemons, make lemonade – Michele, you’ve made a pitcher-full! Congratulations

  2. Wow that is an expensive day of writing! So glad you got to take it, though. And so glad I bought you that glass of wine last night. Ha ha.
    Now one last push! Get that baby out into the world!

  3. Yeeees! So happy to hear this. So glad you did the work–the world is waiting…

Leave a Reply

WRITERS' RUMPUS

Authors & Illustrators Wild About Kidlit!

mariaslondonblog

HERE'S TO THE NEXT 12 months IN LONDON ***views and comments expressed are entirely my own

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Flights O' Fancy

Young Adult book reviews by your fellow addict

The Matilda Project

Bookish Adventures

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

P u l p e d M a c h i n a

Published Sci-fi Critical Reviews

Nancy Tandon

My inner writer is out to play!

Exploring those mysterious, underlying forces fueling a writing life

Write. Every. Day.

Exploring those mysterious, underlying forces fueling a writing life

WanderTime

Exploring those mysterious, underlying forces fueling a writing life

Life etc...

Exploring those mysterious, underlying forces fueling a writing life

Out to Play

Exploring those mysterious, underlying forces fueling a writing life

Be someone's hero. No cape required.

Lynda Mullaly Hunt, a children's author, blogs on craft, news, and the importance of everyday heroes in everyday lives.

Blossom

Words, Wanderlust, and Daydreams by k.c. o'leary

